The ramblings of a lunatic

Today, I have been scanning the web yet again for articles about haunted houses, props, scare acting, and special effects. I didn’t manage to find any new websites that seemed to be of a high quality. I still think Haunt World is one of the better places to go to if you’re into the haunt biz. It has forums for home haunters, pro haunters, and everyone in between. It’s a great forum with great people. In just a few days, I’ve made numerous friends. At least, I consider them friends. I don’t know if they feel like I’m a friend, but I hope they do.

I do feel a little out of place on Haunt World because it seems that everyone either owns a haunt or at leas goes to haunts. Sadly, I don’t fit either of those descriptions. Like I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I just recently discovered my obsession with haunted houses. I never went to them when I was little because I got scared easily. I don’t go to any now because all of the local haunts aren’t very safe. In fact, some could even be considered dangerous. Oh well. I am, at least, planning to start a haunt.

I’ve already managed to post 31 posts and I don’t see how I did it. I don’t really recall doing that much since I joined. But I do really enjoy the forums. I spend a lot of time of them. Luckily, I’m on Christmas break so I can stay on for most of the day and night. Sadly, school starts back this Friday so I’ll have to really cut back on it. Plus I have to stay after school every Tuesday (HS Jazz Band) and Wednesday (Photography club). That will require even more time.

The only thing I’m dreading about the whole haunt thing is Marching Band. Like many things, marching came easy to me. Yes, I did go through bloody hell, but I enjoyed it (oddly enough; and to those who I’m sure thought this, no I’m not a BDSM slave!).  I say bloody hell because:
-Bloody: I would come home and my toe nails would be oozing blood.
-Hell: I am allergic to an excess of vitamin D3. As you probably know, your body produces it when you’re exposed to the sun. That makes me virtually allergic to the sun. Even when I wore SPF 60 sun screen, I would get sun burned. I would also over heat and sweat a ton. I felt like I was burning alive for 3 months. Even during winter, I would be sweating because of the sun. Even worse, from where I’m allergic to the D3, it felt like bugs were crawling under my skin.
I pushed my @$$ every day on that field, but many kids weren’t as dedicated as me. I only missed one football game because I had a serious migraine. I sat out half of a practice because my knee cap get knocked out of place along with my sax getting beat up and coated in mud. I also sat out for the last three minutes of one practice because I was so dehydrated, I could barely stay conscious. When I would run for punishment, it was never my fault. As a band we succeed and as a band we fail. So, if the brass players *cough*trumpets*cough* talked during rehearsal, we (the band) would run. If kids didn’t run back to their spots, we would run. Etc., etc., so on, and so forth. And that’s only a scratch in the surface of the pain I felt. Here’s a link to a journal I wrote on deviantART about it: [LINK]

Also, I’ve held the position of first chair since I first started band. That means I could become section leader. If I march this season, I’ll have it for sure in the ’10 season. I would love to be section leader. But I would also love to haunt.

Basically, the only things I would miss would be the friends and the leadership roles. I really want to start a haunt, but I don’t want to lose the possibility of being able to be section leader. This is probably the hardest decision I’ve made my entire life. I’m so confused right now. If you have any input, please comment.

2 Responses to “The ramblings of a lunatic”

  1. Whats up tchaunt!? I’m also a newibe haunter who is also on the forums alot. I’m 18 and very impressed by your grasp of actual life limits. The money thing is my issue too. It seems we have the same problem. I was pondering an idea that came to me after reading your blogs a lil while ago. We both need money and we both need it now. Just wanted to bounce an idea off your head to see what you might think or come up with. I was thinking something along the lines of a web wide fundraiser for the haunt. I’d be helping you you’d be helping me. I don’t know its all a jumbled idea in my head rite now so contact me on my account mail. Send me a message through Haunt World. just click on my name theoakhillshaunterTHEFEAR and then send me a message. By the way the email i gave you blog site is void so it don’t work. Later dude.

  2. I saw your account on my site before I read this post. The question I asked you makes me feel so stupid right now. XD Actually, I kinda’ started a fundraiser. In fact, I have two right now. If you would like, I could add you as a moderator on the site so you can edit pages that normal members can’t. That way, you could have a pages under the fund-raiser section. You can reply on here or send me a message on my site about what you want to do.

Leave a comment